Poets logo

Rock Salt

Core edge alive

By Amy ChristiePublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

Jagged rocks on frozen stares,

eyes linger in forgotten maze

can salt take away tears,

will trail lead to another place

out of this wind

where none can touch

the flowers growing on my sill,

the wish I made

and yearn to touch

at the right time

to bloom

in autumn grace?

***

Why was I given time

if only rocks told me the way

barefoot among the edges,

I cannot hurry to meet fate,

I need clouds for a carpet

and dreams

back in a picnic basket

for another day

lifetime of smiles,

no ending or beginning

just now

to stay

in love with moments, twilight wish,

gift from heart

to ocean forest

silken waves

apart.

***

Beyond the gray

and timeless curve

this road takes me inside

I can see what happened before,

I feel a breeze

not of today,

yesterday's blush greets me again,

did I learn from mistakes,

would I go back

and live each time,

in different mood and words,

another way to shine,

is it a bubble stopping time,

can I go back

and face the worst

before it changed my life?

***

Mistakes speak louder than caress,

blue mountains know the moon,

not as it is,

a memory retraced

fingers on sand touch salty marsh

and loss,

there's also laughter in the corner,

I call it back,

it answers, and the hail

waits a while longer

before taking down curtain,

before fiery sunshine makes the butterflies

think twice before singing aloud,

add more to life

than simple colors,

make cheeks glow with each chance

to love, surrender loss,

to be kind to each other

make hearts smile

and shine back.

***

On sunny road that waits

rocks parted to let go

storm gone in sorrow waft,

no trace remains

of tears

or the snow

that kept heart trapped

inside an ocean

of never-ending mirrors,

shattered the glass,

begins another day,

on this next breath

weaving new tiny wings

for every butterfly

that learned to wait.

***

© 2022 Amy Christie

Photo credit: Pexels

Originally published on LinkedIn

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Amy Christie

Passionate writer and journalist, striving to create meaningful connections.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.