Poets logo

Rivers & Roads

Do you ever realize how badly you’re going to miss a moment while you’re living it?

By Evelyn HarrisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Drawing by Evelyn Harris

She was with me and we were running.

I felt her hand interlaced with mine, and I could smell her shampoo as the breeze pulled her scent into me and her hair bounced in the wind.

She looks like a dream. The golden light from the setting sun gives her a perfect halo. Her laughter makes my heart ache to hold her still in my arms.

She begins to sing.

“Rivers and roads, oh, rivers and roads!”

“That’s not how it starts,”

As if on queue, the two of us synchronize.

“A year from now we’ll all be gone, all our friends will move away.

Oh they’re going to better places, but our friends will be gone away.”

We continue nearly skipping down the hill, our voices reaching for the sky.

“Nothing is as it has been, and I miss your face like hell, and I guess it’s just as well but I miss your face like hell.”

I tighten my grasp on her hand. The lyrics ring a little too true, and my heart sinks.

She pulls me forward and we continue to sing oh’s to the melody.

“Rivers and roads, rivers and roads, rivers til I reach you.”

We sound like a broken record, but neither of us seem to be bothered by the repetition.

It’s a chant we hold onto for solace. The words feel like a safety blanket, a soft reminder that we will be alright.

I capture this moment in my heart like a photograph. Catching the light, the way I feel, and her placed perfectly beside me in one frame.

Song Reference: Rivers & Roads by The Head And The Heart

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Evelyn Harris

instagram: evelyn_harris & evelynharrisart

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.