Poets logo

River

A Poem

By Mihaela VasilevaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Here's a river,

I release for you.

Its waters are calm,

Its movements,

Fluid.

I don't recall the last time I gave one

So

Easily,

So

Freely,

So

Desperately.

To give you one was to ask Mother for more than she already had given.

It was to beg her to give you the world,

But you already had it.

She wanted to stop me,

She pulled on my hand,

Whispered

And said,

"Don't."

I released a river, still.

For you.

I don't know why I did it,

But should you really ask why the Mother does the things she does?

I gave her the choice to either protect me or kill you.

I chose my own death,

In order to bring you

Back to life.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Mihaela Vasileva

I write based on heart. I love based on thought. I think based on truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.