Poets logo

Rising Storm

A Poem of Mental Health

By Caelen TricePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1

I can feel a storm rising

In the back of my mind

That voice is finally back

Saying you're out of time

"You got two degrees

What you think you're something?

What I know boy is you better start running"

Into the dark, Into the light

Why can't I stand up to fight?

Hear me now, I'm screaming out

The Beast wears many faces

He creeps while you hide

Finds the corners deep down inside

There's no turning away now

Lightening strikes light up the sky

His shadow everywhere

You can't look away

You just kneel and pray for one more day

"What you think you're worth it?

You think they'll really stay?

When they see the mess you've made

What will they say?

You think they want you?

Look at you now

Wipe the dirt off your face

You're just part of the crowd"

Rain floods in, sweeps away

What I remember of yesterday

Hold me please, don't let him stay

Don't let him take me away

His voice is all I hear

Please don't let him get too near

I'm begging

I can't stop him now

His steps are growing way too close

Now we are nose to nose

His eyes are like the flames

I just want to be unchained

I'm stumbling fast

Into the past

There's no stopping me now

"What you think they'll help you

In your hour of need?

Boy you're really crazy

This world is built out of greed

Just take my hand

Soon you will see

The hourglass is out of sand

All that's left is you and me

Watch them walk away

Time after time

You thought they would help you

but they left you to die

You reconstructed yourself

But only with my help

you've got a debt to pay

Better start paying it now

Your nightmares are mine

With your hopes and your dreams

If you're gonna start praying

You better get on your knees

I'm everywhere and nowhere

And if you could only see

This world would be much better

If you would just join me

The storm is rising

It is mine to command

What you going to do?

You're alone and just one man"

My thoughts are racing

I can't get any sleep

Even when I do

I can hear him in my dreams

Whispering promises and declarations

Of a world where I'll know peace

All I have to do is just stay asleep

Forget my hopes and aspirations

Forget all that I want and that I need

The storm is racing in

And I know I can't match it's speed

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Caelen Trice

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.