Poets logo

Ride the Bike

A poem about faith by ED 6/8/22

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ride the Bike
Photo by Olivia Snow on Unsplash

No perfect instruction will make this clear

Where to put your hands to stably steer

No tomes nor documentaries to supplement

Only natural instinct you must implement

The pedals for pushing are what makes it go

The helmet will protect your head, you know

The gears and the chains all connect smoothly

Trying to break all this down behooves me

As your instructor, your trusted tutor

After all, I instructed you in how to ride your scooter

You saw someone else try it and begged me for one

You wanted to partake in everyone else’s fun

I obliged, I conceded, it’s good for the youths

To enjoy time outside, among other truths

But back to this lesson, time's a-wasting

Unfortunately, with talent, there’s no copy-pasting

When you start to lean to one side or the other

Adjust your weight, lean back, so that you might recover

Keep pedaling always to keep going forward

Until the mailbox or curb you head toward

Is in close range, then slow yourself down

Push your right heel back down to the ground

That’s the brake, an important safety feature

Goodness me, I didn’t sign on to play teacher

Are any of these singular ideas the key

To releasing you to let you ride free?

"Just ride the bike" is the only advice

I offer because of your command to advise

Get on and go, give it a try

Afraid you might fall? What if you fly?

I can not fathom every possibility

Or course of action, let’s trust your ability

To learn from mistakes and practical application

Thus, here ends your endless supplication

I’ve told you what I know, so

Get on and go, woah!

Look at you, keep it up, stay on the course

Ah! What a shame, I see the concrete is coarse

Get on up, try again, your knee is barely skinned

Start confidently and you’ll soar like the wind

I’m back here, but keep going

I can’t keep up with your rapidly growing

Faith in yourself and faith overall

Look how far you’ve gone, look at what you've become...

I am your proud Father, standing tall.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Tessa Glasgow 2 years ago

    This is such a great metaphor for so many other real life experiences! Great piece 🖤

  • Perfect! so inspiration

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.