Poets logo

Richard Pryor is a Hero

A poem about creativity.

By Jacob CraigPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
via Variety

Why would you do this?

Stand on a cold stage

I want to do this

For the rest of my days

I need to create

I want to give joy

You don’t deserve the spotlight

You’re just a boy

But I worked hard

I’ve shed countless tears

Just to get up here

In front of my judging peers

The world doesn’t see me

For who I truly am

I just want to create

Why should you give a damn?

Y’all hated Pryor, Carlin, and Bruce

The greatest there are, without much debate

Yet they were belittled by all of you people

Who lack the irresistible urge to create

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jacob Craig

Stand-up comic. MMA historian. I can guarantee I'm the geekiest person you know. Men in Black 2 is the greatest movie of all time, change my mind.

Twitter: @jacobccraig

Insta: @jacomalfoy1

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.