Poets logo

Rewind

A poem on the spectrum

By Josey PickeringPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Rewind
Photo by Юлія Дубина on Unsplash

Looking back through photographs,

I see a face I know.

The child who lives inside of me,

no matter how much I grow.

The youthful face of blissful ignorance,

a child of wonder.

She moves her body unlike her peers,

and their words tear her innocence asunder.

I flip through the years and try to catch her eyes,

but as her height lengthens,

she loses her gaze towards the normal folks,

and in her neurodivergence her confidence strengthens.

She shines a light that not all can see,

but those who can are blinded by her luminosity.

I look in the mirror, and find her in my eyes.

That same sense of wonder, but a wary curiosity.

There's a sadness in my eyes from a heavy heart,

but there's also a fire lit by the tiny child within me.

A fire for light and warmth,

to make up for the cold & shadows that long surrounded me.

For Elanor - for finding me on the spectrum

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jackie Teepleabout a year ago

    A beautiful piece! I’m sure Elanor was moved 😍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.