Poets logo

Revolve

Am I still your world?

By cookie footPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

For some odd reason,

everyone lives as if the world revolves around them.

Maybe it's social media,

or maybe it's entitlement bred into our backbones,

but we all act as if we matter.

The one and most important water drop in the bucket.

Everyone lives as if the world revolves around them,

except you.

Your world seemed to revolve around me.

You saw the sunrise in my eyes,

your reason for waking up.

You acted as if the stars were hidden behind my teeth,

you could stargaze at my words

for hours.

The edge of the sidewalk ended

where my body began,

there was nowhere you didn't want to go.

The sunset rested on my lips,

dusk was your happy place.

I guess it was pretty awful of me to take that from you.

Your sun slowly stopped rising,

The stars disappeared into dust,

I spun you out of orbit,

pushed you into the vast nothingness

cold loneliness,

I didn't even check if you had oxygen.

I'm sorry,

I'm sorry for not knowing what I was taking from you.

I'm sorry for not realizing what I meant to you.

I'm sorry you didn't mean anything to me.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

cookie foot

writing is my therapy don't bully me

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.