Poets logo

Reunion Prayer

A Poem

By Jason KnightmanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Reunion Prayer
Photo by Rémi Boudousquié on Unsplash

So, when I started writing my main (fantasy) story, I had thought about having a cultural bit in my world where lovers in a certain country would say a traditional parting prayer when one went out to sea in order to ensure they get back together.

Later, a friend of mine who knew about the poem then had a friend of theirs suffer the loss of a loved one, and they asked permission to forward it on. It was their hope, and then mine once asked, that it would assist in bringing closure for their loss.

As a result of that line of thinking, I present it to you in the hopes that anyone else who may also be struggling might gain the same.

REUNION PRAYER

Where sun's gold light should lead thee,

And silver stars' shine guide thee,

I pray the angels guard thee,

'Til one day, reunite we.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Jason Knightman

I'm a half-centennial, aspiring new author in the Houston, TX, area, with a husband who is an over-the-road long haul truck driver. Ultimately, I hope to write three trilogies with my first set of concepts, along with a few short stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.