Poets logo

Rescued

Love at First Sight

By Sara FrederickPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Crushing crowds move against me like waves

Pushing, back and forth, it’s hard to move

Heads bob like buoys on turbulent waters

I can’t breathe, floating alone in a sea of people

Adrift, thirsty, hungry

I see you, standing tall like a beacon

A spark of life, a breath, hope catches in my chest

Gazing into your light, I wait for a sign

Perhaps you’re a hallucination of my numb core

The current of the masses pushes me towards you

I’m staring, fixated

Another breath, a heart thump, a flutter

My listless spirit is roused

A sudden ebb of the crowd pulls me back

I’m shifting away from you

Panic electrifies, shocking my fluttering heart into action

Moving against the tide, my small body slaps at the waves of multitudes

Forcing my way towards you, the tide turns again

Crowds swell, crashing me into your harbor

Relief and safety wash over me, I grab your arm

You look down with concern, I smile back

Is this real I wonder

I’m sorry I croak, parched and dry

Your warmth turns towards me with concern and care

Hello you say, thick with honey

Like a lifeline, your warm hand encloses mine

Steadying myself, captured by your comfort, I feel saved

Coffee? You ask, fixing your eyes on mine

Yes, please, spoken with my new breath

My soul is revived, my heart pounds with life

I am rescued

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sara Frederick

I often write about broken or damaged beings. But I love, love. I believe everyone, person or creature, deserves love and acceptance. Thank you for reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.