Poets logo

Remembering to Forget

Does Love Have a Name?

By Fatema SiddikiPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I'm trying to remember your face, and it comes in pieces and sometimes all together. I'm trying to remember how your eyebrows creased up when you were tensed or how your eyes sparkled when you were truly happy. I'm trying to remember how you used to curse on every other slow-moving driver on the freeway and then felt bad the next minute. I'm trying to remember the touch of your hand and the soft peck on the cheek. I'm trying to remember the love of bands on your wrist, the one complemented with the leather jacket and the vintage watch that did not work. I'm trying to remember the waves in your hair and the scar you got when you were little. I'm trying to remember the wacky promises you kept to the utmost drunken calls we had. I'm trying to remember how you were the closest, even being thousands of miles apart. I'm trying to remember how you made me fall in love with myself by being in love with you. I'm trying to remember the last time I held you, not knowing it could be the last. I'm trying to remember you being the most beautiful thing I ever stumbled upon. I'm still trying to remember the name of Love, and it’s yours, the one I’m trying to “forget.”

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Fatema Siddiki

Writing has been my escape since I can remember. I am bringing life experiences, memories, daily frustrations, happiness, love, all the feels into everyday words, where we all can relate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.