Poets logo

Remember Me After I’m Gone

I know you miss me, love. But baby you have to let me go. I loved you with all my heart, I just want you to know.

By Alison CloveheartPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3
Remember Me After I’m Gone
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Remember me after I’m gone,

When tomorrow starts without me there.

And you feel nothing but despair.

When you rather be tucked away in bed

The covers pulled up above your head

When nothing seems right, nothing seems true.

And you hate that I've been taken away from you.

Remember me in your memory

Hold it close to your soul.

I know it won’t fill the void, nor the gaping hole.

I feel your hurt, your agony, your sorrow.

When you can’t get up and face tomorrow

I know you hug my pillow when one is around.

And scream silently into it without a sound.

Remember me when they tell you,

That time has come for you to grieve.

It won't matter how hard you tug and heave.

Over such things my love, you have no control.

Just let go, stop looking for a loophole.

I know you miss me, love. But baby you have to let me go.

I loved you with all my heart, I just want you to know.

Remember me even when we are apart.

I get that you are furious, angry and mad.

Lamenting over the fight we had.

I know you want time, just a little more.

We hadn’t made up yet, from the night before.

Its okay love, I forgive you for now and all the years.

I feel your pain roll down your face in angry tears.

By Everton Vila on Unsplash

Remember me when I’m no more .

I don’t want any rituals or rites.

Just let me pass into the light.

Don’t stand at my grave after I die.

I promise it gets better as time passes by.

Miss me a little but let me go.

I’ve loved you more than you would ever know.

Remember me after I leave,

Miss me just a little okay.

On Christmas mornings and on every birthday.

You've made me happy so try not to be sad.

I know love, saying goodbye still hurts so bad.

I know you miss me and you’ve been a mess.

But know that I miss you too.

My love for you will never grow less.

Remember me and don’t forget,

That our love is timeless.

Every memory, every touch and caress.

I know everything won’t be the same.

And it will hurt every time you hear my name.

I wish you didn't hurt so much, that you don't fall apart.

Because love, I'm still alive right there in your heart.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Alison Cloveheart

Hey there!

I'm an aspiring writer, who wants to be better connected with all the readers out there and for some much needed feedback.

^_^

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.