Poets logo

Remember Me

Please.

By Magnus RicePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Remember Me
Photo by Milos Tonchevski on Unsplash

I can feel them.

Generations of my ancestors calling out.

“Remember me”they cry.

When they speak you can hear the rumblings of war, of sacrifice, of honour.

I feel a touch on my shoulder, and in a flash I am transported back.

The smell of smoke invades my senses.

I see haggard men with eyes filled with the horrors around them.

There is a BOOM and a soldier grabs my arm.

“Remember me” he says.

Suddenly I am transported again.

I smell blood, and hear the cries of the wounded.

Medics hurry from bed to bed, propping soldiers up, pressing cool cloths to foreheads.

There is an indescribable taste of desperation, as these medics fight to keep these men alive.

There is a scream from a closed off area, and I am grabbed by a wounded soldier.

“Remember me” he begs.

Another BOOM, and everything goes dark.

There is quiet, and I can feel the breeze and sunshine.

I open my eyes to the sight of row on row of crosses.

There is a carpet of red, garish but right.

Poppies, covering the ground, protecting them one last time.

I sink to the ground, holding the weight of despair felt by thousands.

I close my eyes against the sight and I hear a whisper in my ear.

“Remember us” it says.

“Do not let us fade away and be forgotten”.

A gust of wind blows and I’m lifted away.

I open my eyes and I am home.

A home where I am free and safe all thanks to those who sacrificed everything for their country.

So I remember them.

I use my voice to ensure that theirs aren’t forgotten.

“Remember them” I beg.

“Please. “

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Magnus Rice

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.