Poets logo

Remember

The good and the bad

By Misty RumsleyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Remember
Photo by James Wheeler on Unsplash

Remember the days when your life was perfect

You would dance in the sunshine your smile as wide as the sky

And when the warm breeze blew and caressed your hair that was my touch

A child you were inside and out but as the years passed I couldn't let you forget

Remember the days when your world flipped upside down

You lost control and your dreams came tumbling down

Some nights the pain left you numb but whether you felt it or not

I held you then and I never let go

Remember those solemn promises you made to change

But after time you found your surroundings didn't so why should you?

I saw your efforts to please holding onto any hope you could see

Some days it was enough some days it wasn't

Yet I looked into your mind and found some memories lost

The dripping tears for the playthings broken and strayed

The time you fell in the mud and the others ran on ahead

Remember the days when you came running back

Because you believed that I'd still be here waiting

I held you then and I'll never let go

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Misty Rumsley

My goal is to build my storytelling skills and explore depth in poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sue Rumsley2 years ago

    Yes, a kaleidoscope of emotions, yet an anchor for the heart: "I'll never let you go". Beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.