Poets logo

Relearn how to breathe

Pondering the loss

By M. WintersPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Relearn how to breathe
Photo by Nate Neelson on Unsplash

The love that wasn’t there...

Broken china cups of a little girls lost dream

Tracing hearts into the foggy glass and watching them slowly disappear

Longing for a word, a touch, a look, a smile, that doesn’t ever come

Sitting alone wondering if your thoughts are of me

Pondering the loss- if it’s your loss, too

How do I breathe without your love to fill my lungs

I know I’ll be ok- but I don’t want to succeed without you there

A desert resides inside me

This vast almost lifeless place because you’re gone

Someday rains will come and renew the life- but until then, dust.

Shrapnel I intake in some of my breaths

The jagged edges you’ve left behind get caught with each inhale

Fucking fighting to exist when my world wants to die

You lit my fire when my fuse had died out

You filled my feathers with air and watched as I flew

Lighting struck and singed my wings and I plummeted down watching as your wreckage became mine

Looking into a windowless soul of your eyes

Wondering what other deceit must there be

I’m a bird in you cage and I no longer sing

Set me free from your apathy

My self worth became the dust and those flames

I have to find my own way now

The blanket of your chains has to be cut free

I have to relearn how to breathe

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

M. Winters

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.