Poets logo

Relationship Material

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Can't look at her now

Couldn't even back then

I don't know if she knows

If it happened

And when

I extended my hand

On that balcony ledge

And drew her into my

Burning flag-bearing pledge

My allegiance unfaithful

To her's in its purest

Convictions as graceful

As mine

Are abhorrent

Exhorting their pleasure

Two forms pressed together

Succumbing to Hedonist

Weakness

Whenever

It renders me deader

Than "death do us part"

In contrarian fashion

To what I Descartes

For the heart

Isn't really

The love that we feel

And if she really felt it for me

Was it real?

Was it even the same

Kind of strain

Of in vain

To express it to her

As the most welcome pain

I could ever again

Comprehend

Or explain

That to be without it,

Without her

Was the end

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.