Poets logo

Reflections

In my Life

By Joe LucaPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Pixabay Image - by Greyerbaby

Truth Hurts

Had this ache the other day,

it came early and left late.

Introduced himself and lit

a cigarette; blue smoke rising

up to the ceiling.

Truth, he offered, extending a hand.

Been away for a while, seems a lot

of people are mad at me now.

Could say I’m sorry, but I’m not.

Could say I understand, but I don’t.

They need me, I don’t need them.

They want my conversation –

But I’m all talked out.

Said it all, you see

and said it first –

But no one was listening then. Not to me.

He stubbed out his cigarette

And went quiet for a while

Then gave me his address

And said goodbye.

Grief

He doesn’t listen, not anymore.

Just talks and talks

like it’s him or nothing.

Talks on like no one has anything to say.

Pokes his finger, jabs it

here and there.

Points to where he’s going

and shouts out when he’s there.

Doesn’t listen, not to me.

Mouth moving, eyes fixed,

like a man possessed,

And about to break free.

It’s his passion I guess,

something he longs to be,

so, I’ll sit here listening,

till he sets me free.

Call Waiting

Been on hold,

for three years now.

Music playing -

mostly out of key.

Been waiting for an answer

for a chance to engage -

for a message

from my dad from 1963.

The music stops playing,

heard a click, then a voice,

You can keep on waiting

Or leave a number

I’ll call you back.

Took a chance

And said hello,

Can you hear me dad,

it’s me, your son Joe?

Lost your number,

found it then.

Would love to hear

your voice again –

Anytime day or night

Just call me dad,

I’ve got call waiting.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Joe Luca

Writing is meant to be shared, so if you have a moment come visit, open a page and begin. Let me know what you like, what makes you laugh, what made you cry - just a little. And when you're done, tell a friend. Thanks and have a great day.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.