Poets logo

Reflection

In the Mirror

By Lukey Loose LeafPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I got broken bones from the sticks and stones

I treated college like it was a game of thrones

I made decisions listening to hormones

I got debt up to my neck in student loans

Some things I used to regret

Some things I’ll never forget

Looking back used to get me upset

But now I stare in the mirror to reflect

I took a deeper look into my interior

And then I found something superior

No one can tell me that I’m inferior

Based on what they see on my exterior

I'm starting with the person in the mirror to make a better place.

I barely scratched the surface of my issues

This is an open case.

I'm looking to my maker for direction each and every day.

He's looking back at me to lead the way.

I was made in His image.

I know who I see.

Evolving to who Lukey destined to be.

The world ain't perfect but we can make it a better place

by washing smudges off of our own face.

No message could've been any clearer.

I recognize the person in the mirror.

I was made in His likeness.

My light on it’s the brightest.

King's kid, call me your highness.

Flow sick - It ain't sinus.

Spreading Gospel like a virus.

So, you can not minus.

What I see through my iris.

Is none but the righteous staring in the mirror.

I got a vision that’s bigger than my pockets.

But one day I’ll take off like a rocket.

For now, I wait patiently and dock it.

And share the good news like a prophet.

No more listening to false prophecies.

No more believing in hypocrisies.

If I see something wrong I’ll change it.

If I’m off course I’ll rearrange it.

I ain't perfect, but I get better every day.

I try to be the greatest in every way.

I don’t get worried about what people say.

The mirror is clearer, with no clouds of grey.

Mirror, Mirror, Mirror

It is getting clearer

Please help me.

Please help me.

Reflections of my Deflection.

Reflections of my Reflection.

You are staring back at me.

Staring back at me.

Ending with the problem in the mirror to get a better view.

Sankofa, go back to get what you left in the past to get the future too.

No more taking wrong answers from the Slumdog mirrors.

No more making the same mistakes from the same ‘ol errors.

The world ain’t perfect, but we got the power to change it.

Hop on this journey and cross range it.

Blessings may be closer than what they appear.

Grace and Mercy come together like a pair.

I said it once before, but let me be clear.

I’m starting to recognize the person in the mirror .

I’m made in your image.

I know what I see.

I see Your glory staring back at me.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lukey Loose Leaf

Sappy, purpose-driven multimedia artist from Philly. Currently living in Jackson, Mississippi, USA. "Art is Life, so I live every day!" ~ Me 😁

215 🚌➡ 252 🚗➡ 704 ✈➡ 570 🚗➡ 601

To see more of my work visit AutuMedia.com. 🖱

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.