Poets logo

reflection

your lover, your enemy: you

By VeraPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

it surprises me,

i didn't know you'd be burned in my memory until every flashback was you.

i didn't know I'd be stuck on your face, resisting to let go because the cold feels like home.

so i don't say good bye, but you finally saw it isn't right to keep me hanging on singing love songs.

i reluctantly agreed, not knowing how naive it was of me to see more in front of us while you were closing the door shut.

you win...once again i'm shown a mirror of my own work still undone, still waiting for me to just love; stop waiting for "us".

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Vera

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.