Poets logo

Reflection

A Poem

By Samantha ReidPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I look in the mirror and wonder

Will they see through me today?

Will they notice that it is all a front,

All a façade, all a complete lie?

I stare at the reflection

Examine my composed mouth

My confident stare

I have it all together

That is what everyone says

That is what everyone has always said

I wonder if today they will realize

That inside I am crumbling

I wonder if they will see

That my hands are shaking

Will they notice my calm breathing

Is preventing a panic attack?

Or will I convince them once again

That I am in control?

Nothing fazes me

Nothing upsets me

I can take on the world

I leave the mirror, fingers crossed

Hoping that for one more day

They won’t all see the truth

The scared little girl

Who would rather hide in a corner

Than walk out her front door

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Reid

I have been a creative writer for over 10 years, an academic for 7 years, and a blogger for 3 years. Writing is my passion and it's what I love.

Follow me on Instagram @samreid2992

Find me on Twitter @SgReid211

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.