Poets logo

Reclamation

or I Got People

By Tamara GrahamPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

You gonna make me call my nana on you

And all my aunties too

Make me ask them to come and sit with me

So we can meditate on how to manage you

We did it before, fixin to do it again

And this time it won’t end with just you suffering

Make me call her name

every which way to Sunday

Ask her to fill my gut with the agony

Of losing another son to your fear mongering

And hatred.

You already believe I’m magical

I know you do

cause you have campaigned

An actual system

To misdirect, and distract

So that my connection to my ancestors

Is whacked and naked and closed.

Everybody knows

if we sit down to discuss

all the mess you made

And we fuss

That a plan will be hatched,

and it will

Most certainly

be attached to your well Being

Seeing is you don’t have any issue

Snatching stuff that belongs to us

Just trust that your undoing

Will not be the ruin of anything

But the system

Pissed'em off is what u’ve done

I’m gonna tell my nana on you

You might as well start running now

Cause when she get’s here

It’s gonna be final, and freeing and loud.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.