Poets logo

Reality

So please grant me peace from the demons I see. They crowd me and stalk me and won't let me be. By Natalie Marie Stefani Rice

By Natalie Marie Stefani-RicePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Papawu Pinterest.com

Sitting now on our old bed, heads hang in our hands.

Regrets fill our hearts, this was not what we planned.

Weeping for lost love, Reality takes back her stand.

Sitting high on her horse, she makes one last command.

Wind comes in from the windows, through boards on the floor, no mercy for nonsense, she won't take it no more.

Her voice booms so loudly, she wakes up the neighbors.

From our bedroom I hear them call out our names.

Her words are so forceful they forget why they came.

Each word stressed upon so everyone hears.

"Stand up you fools, you had it all right here. Stand up and be accountable for what you messed up."

And with that she rode off on her stallion all black, Reality gave no hint on how to put it all back.

Losing all that we had except for each other.

So now I can see, on our darkest of days, the light you shined

So lost in my ways.

I just want you to understand that none of this planned.

This I now know.

Grabbing on for dear life.

Losing you is my death.

I tried to desperately to turn back the hands of time.

But I know I failed you greatly.

I failed us both.

So please grant me peace from the demons I see.

They crowd me and stalk me and won't let me be.

Conscience, she called it, Reality did.

I'm sorry for my part, I forgave you I did.

I patiently wait now in my living Hell eternity for your love in these shadows I dwell.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Natalie Marie Stefani-Rice

So please grant me peace from the demons I see. They crowd me and stalk me and won't let me be.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.