Poets logo

Real Monsters

For when your childhood fears gain adult teeth

By CorwynnaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Real Monsters
Photo by Neil Rosenstech on Unsplash

When I was young I was afraid

Of monsters in the closet

Under beds or behind curtains

Hidden in my house

Of werewolves vampires ghosts and ghouls

Of creeping slime and living dead

Of rattling noises from the attic

Of elves and disembodied heads

But now I know where Monsters hide

And how they can mold their outsides

Why they can be just anyone

A mother father daughter son

They rip and tear at minds and souls

They use your fears and dreams and goals

They smash your joy before it sparks

And subtly make cruel remarks

They’re brash they’re cunning

Loud and soft

Tall and short and round and not

They’re in plain sight yet can’t be seen

Real monsters look like me

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Corwynna

I'm a 28 year old writer and biologist with a million hobbies and enough passion for all of them!

Explore my music, stories, and homebrew on my site:

https://sites.google.com/view/corwynnascorner/home

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.