Poets logo

Reaching for the Shore

This is a praise poem for my darkest time and a reminder you will make it through this.

By Victoria NicolovaPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

When I watch the tide wash over the sand

I wonder sometimes, how I ever made it out alive

When the salt water erases my footsteps from the sand,

I wonder how I survived, how I stand here now…

How did I not get washed away by the waves?

How did I not get erased by the water?

How am I still standing?

When I look at the sea, I think of the darkest parts of my mind.

Just like the sea, they seem welcoming, beckoning yet

Dark. Scary. Evil.

I think back to the times when I couldn’t lift

my head above the water.

When the thoughts,

Much like the waves,

Took away my ability to move.

How the pain,

Like the water,

Took away my ability to breathe.

Deep beneath the water.

Deeper than the Marianas Trench

At a time when the waves were stronger than my mind.

I look back at this time not with hatred or anger, but strength.

Knowing I have made it to the shore now.

So when I look at the water now

I feel more strength than fear

Although some days I do more than just dip my toes in the water

Although some days I feel like I’m drowning again.

I look back at the times when my feet couldn’t even graze the ocean floor

And I realize

I am here now

My feet are in the sand

And

I am here now

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Victoria Nicolova

19

Vegan

College student

Mental illness warrior

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.