Poets logo

Ramblings part 30

Identity

By Josephine MasonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
14
Ramblings part 30
Photo by Yasin Yusuf on Unsplash

What is my identity?

I identify as many things

I'm a woman, I'm a gamer

I'm a writer, I'm pansexual

~

But do all those things make up my identity?

Are they just parts to a whole

That my heart holds

To make up the things that are me

~

To identify as only one thing is a lie

I'm so many things

That make up my identity

~

So when you ask me to identify myself

What do you mean

Do you want my name

Or do you want all the things that make up my identity

~

I can give you a list

That's a mile and a half long

So when you ask me to identify myself

What do you really mean

~

A name?

So you have the proper nomenclature to identify me

Or do you want the real things

That make up my identity

~

As I proceed on my journey of transitioning I often ask myself, what is my identity? Honestly I'm pretty sure that's just a human condition but it wasn't one I really started asking till now. So what's your identity? If you enjoyed this rambling then please heart, subscribe, and feel free to leave a tip. Till next time.

social commentary
14

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.