Poets logo

Raise a Glass

A toast to what may or may not rest

By Kay SourcePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Raise a Glass
Photo by Sérgio Alves Santos on Unsplash

Cheers to what we cling to

That little chorus that reassures you,

“its all in the name of living”

It’ll harmonize with the parts inside you that long for a reprieve

“take the risk—what they say never mattered anyway”

Frame after frame of pleasures un-opiated masses would disapprove of,

flicker though my head

as I consider

what I did to you

in the dark

Here lay the remains of

cheers to what we clung to

--in our own due time

Don’t you still like your vices if they get you through the day?

If “shouldn’t” and “not supposed to” are phrases that we all regress into;

Don’t our conflicting notions reinforce their invalidation?

I long to know why it is they so deeply fear to satiate—

even themselves

Surely us, our one and only ally

However in this exception

I am not afraid

to give in

Maybe I should just let it buzz like this

Just for a little while...

Stuck in a transition that might not move

It be easier if we wanted less ends

to satisfy our means

I so desperately want to tell you

that all I am seeking is little whiles

I do feel at peace, calm as we watch

The sunrise

I push from the horizon, periphery of my mind

When the months go by

And you won't look me in my eyes

But my depravity knows it will want more to fill

So if we re not perfect fits, and

One, both, move forward

I don’t want any more pain of the impression

Of what once was

It’s a tough choice

But your skin on mine

Any hope of vocalizing no,

Long absorbed in breathing in sync with you,

Is too far gone

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Kay Source

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.