Poets logo

Rainy Morning Dog Duties

A Tale of Canine Toileting and Morning Routine

By Neesem KhanPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
5

Soft whimpering roused me from sleep, muffled

by the relentless patter of rain on our rooftop.

Six-thirty on a Sunday morning, the subdued sobs

now escalating to cries and moans of the Baby,

whose real name is Poppy, our third Boston Terrier,

only four months old, bellowing, "I urgently need to relieve myself,

old man, get out of bed this instant!"

Donning loose sleep shorts, a t-shirt, rain jacket, and sturdy

black boots, my hair disheveled like straw on a peasant's hut.

The streetlight still illuminated, cold rain trickling down

my neck, cascading down my legs, seeping

into the crevices of my boots. I glance downward and she,

in her dog-like manner, greets me with a contented grin,

as happy as on any sunny summer day.

"Not here, no, not here. Maybe down there,

Dad, at the end of the street. Oh, look, a rabbit!

Now, why did we come out here? I forgot. Let's play,

let's play, let's play!"

Water drips from her snout, flowing from between her

pointed ears, her coat of red and white adorned with

clumps of mud and weeds, displaced by her

prancing and frolicking along the waterlogged path

near our road.

Twenty minutes pass before we discover "The Spot,"

that sacred patch of soil known solely to water-resistant

canines who, with the blessings

of the deities of canine waste, deem this area

fitting for my deposit.

I dry her off, prepare a hasty meal of dog food,

and toss her furry rear back into bed.

The older female dogs still slumber, trained to remain

hushed until a reasonable hour. My wife,

mumbling from beneath the covers, asks,

"Did you take her out? Is it still raining?"

Five minutes later, three dogs and my wife

are all snoring harmoniously. Now dressed in fresh pajamas,

I return to bed, checking on the Baby once more, only to receive

that familiar gaze...

"Thanks, Dad. Let's do it again later."

love poems
5

About the Creator

Neesem Khan

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Naveedkk 9 months ago

    Fantastic job, Neesem!

  • Shivani Parekh10 months ago

    It was such an amazing poem! And especially the end was hilarious 😂 loved it!

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    Such a wonderful and darling story! Your descriptions made me feel like I was on that walk in the rain. Ahhh, puppies! 😊Fantastic job, Neesem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.