Poets logo

Rainbow.

A spoken word poem, my first one in 10 years.

By GemPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Rainbow.
Photo by Gemma Chua-Tran on Unsplash

I'm not obsessed with my man, I'm just at peace when I'm with him.

I am my most comfortable around him. I am willingly vulnerable around him. I am warm around him. I feel sexy around him.

I'm not obsessed with my man; I just feel my most beautiful around him.

My time is precious to anyone else but with him my time is endless.

I'm not obsessed with him, but you may always see me around him because I choose to be. Because he wants me to be. Because I can be. Because he chooses me.

When you find someone that makes you feel as free as I feel when I'm with him, my man, then you'll understand.

See I had to fight for my life to get here. I had to be abused, misused, manipulated, and broken before I could get here. Before I could feel this feeling.

I wasn't ready for him until after I went through the shit I went through. So maybe I should say thank you to the devils that did me wrong, because I had to go through healing in order to receive my blessing. My man.

I'm not obsessed with him, but I'm beginning to love him. Just that quickly my spirit attached to his. To him.

I'm not obsessed with my man, but he's obsessed with me in a beautiful sense of the word.

He cherishes me. He adores me.

He craves me.

He spoils me. He protects me.

He handles me roughly, makes love to me tenderly.

He sings to me. He sings with me.

What we have feels so real that sometimes I wonder if I even deserve it.

But then I remember what I went through to get here, and I simply just accept my favorite blessing.

He is my gift, and I love when I unwrap the walls that I built around me and let his arms cover me instead.

I love that I can write this in peace knowing that he would say all these same things about me, to me.

I'm not obsessed with my man, but I am calm when he is near, so I keep myself close to him.

He chooses me every day and when you really break that down, there is power in that.

And I choose him.

I choose him because he makes me feel more in touch with my naturalness. My natural hair, my natural body, my natural face.

I choose him because he makes me feel connected to my roots. There's nothing more powerful than a strong black woman and a strong black man slowly falling in love.

I choose him because he loves me for exactly who I am, he never tries to change me.

I choose him because I feel stronger with him.

I choose him because he chooses me. Every day, every night, every hour, every minute.

I choose him because I don't need him, but life is so much better with him.

I say all this to say, that hell you're going through will always output a rainbow in the end.

He is my rainbow.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Gem

Hi! Thank you for being here. I write about my feelings, mostly. I also write about experiences I’ve had & lessons I’ve learned along the way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.