Poets logo

Rain On a Summer Day

A poem of the scents of summer

By Blaine ColemanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image Credit: Pexels

The air cools, the leaves of the trees lift

And flutter in the rising wind.

The clouded sky casts no shadows

But gives the light an almost luminous clarity.

I look across the yard, past the trees

And the old wire fence

To the rusted tin shed across the alley.

The still bare branches of a pin oak tree

Scratch across its roof as the wind grows.

The neither pink nor red blossoms

On the dark branches of an untamed Japonica

Seem to float in front of the rusted tin shed

And glow in the unusual light.

The wind builds and carries the smell of rain

Spattered on hot pavement

And the scent of fresh-cut grass

The rain is close.

A few drops, fat drops, of rain begin to fall

Then the wind dies and the rain fades, stops.

Just a tease.

Then the wind grows, and I hear the roar

Of the approaching rain

The real rain

And it’s a torrent.

~ ~ ~

This story was originally posted on Medium.

Thank you for reading this short piece and I hope you enjoyed it. I have other stories and poetry written and more to write, along with my thoughts on issues of the day, spirituality, religion, politics, and more. You can subscribe to Vocal using my link and see all new work as I publish it and you can also read the thoughts, stories, and viewpoints shared by thousands of writers. And part of the money from every membership helps us all continue to publish and share our work.

I can also be found on Medium, Simily, Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn.

I hope you enjoy my work, and a small tip will help me to continue writing

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Blaine Coleman

I enjoy a quiet retirement with my life partner and our three dogs.

It is the little joys in life that matter.

I write fiction and some nonfiction.

A student of life, the flow of the Tao leads me on this plane of existence.

Spirit is Life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.