Poets logo

Quote Me

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

By Manisha DhalaniPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Quote Me
Photo by Belinda Fewings on Unsplash

Oh what a tangled web we weave,

When first we practise to deceive!

– Sir Walter Scott, Marmion, Canto vi. Stanza 17.

You won’t believe the number of quotes I come across everyday. I frequently go in search of quotes that reflect how I feel on a particular day, copying and pasting them onto my Facebook status so my little world of friends and family will get the hint.

But of all quotes that I’ve read, liked, reposted and even jotted down, the above quote is the only one that always comes back to me. When I saw the prompt about your favourite quote, this quote jumped back into my memory, but I kept contemplating what good use it would be of posting this.

How do I write about a quote that I have no background knowledge of; a quote that was picked up from a piece of work that I’ve never read?

Somehow, though, I see sense in this quote.

It makes sense in a world full of deception and betrayal. It gives a clear understanding of how we are entrapped in our own little web of lies.

I’m no angel. I’ve lied. I’ve told many lies – some to protect myself, some to protect others, and some out of sheer mischief.

What I don’t understand, however, is people who completely brush off the fact that honesty gets you a long way.

It’s like when I tell them, “how about just telling the truth?”, they go “pshhh! truth smuth!” and go ahead and tell me that the truth is not diplomatically correct.

Beyond my understanding, this is.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.