Poets logo

Queens of Gold

A three- part narrative of my first hand experience of being a black girl. The mind, body, and soul that connects every flaming aspect of being a black girl is so powerful.

By Daliah OuedraogoPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Powerful

MIND

Natural hair

Braids

Weaves

Versatile

Stares

The hair

I wear

Good hair

Asks “oh! Can i touch it?”

Bad hair

Internally

Scream

Screams

Screaming

Solange’s “Don't touch my hair”

For a girl

With scalp length hair

Defy my beauty

I dared

Personally

I am not what you define me as

Being bald-headed

Pardon me

Is it because you live in a community

That only sees

Weaves and wigs

But not a #bigchop beauty?

Maya Angelou inspires me

Yea that part

"They swarm around me, a hive of honey bees"

BODY

Bees swarming

Around

As I bodied that body

And face too

Black empire

Hips, waistline

Old to me, new to you

More like that deep

Royal blue

That runs deep in solitude

I go through it

By

Myself

For

Thyself

In my mind

A wide nose, full lips, not to mention soft hips

Self hate

Out of a Caucasoid, Mongoloid and Negroid

Who can relate?

It suddenly has become

A war of

Darkskin vs lightskin

It should really be an army with all shades of black skin

Because at the end of the day

Those social distractions

Like labor contractions

They hurt. They tear

As a result of the birth

SOUL

Stereotypical dirt

Angry and Black

Dust to that connection

But what follows is a must

Black and Proud

Proud as ever

To conquer, defeat, and bring together

As women

Blessed to be the best

Considered to be the worst

To the rest

Inward

Emotions run so deep

Like the Wildseed

Inward

Spirituals that fuel thy soul

Through the blood bath

That comes and goes

The dialogue of stereotypes

Always on the go

But forever

Golden at heart

Actions do depart

Thoughts do flow

But as a melanin driven empire

The goal is to

be

Black, beautiful and bold

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.