Poets logo

Proof that God is a man

Don't believe me? See for yourself

By Debbie SteinmetzPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Proof that God is a man
Photo by he zhu on Unsplash

Before reading. I do not intend to offend anyone by way of religion nor gender. This also, is not a Man bashing poem.

This started out as an emotionally driven piece, and it oddly enough ended up, in my mind, humorous. Made me smile for the first time in a long time.

~~~~~~~

I fell today God, did you pick me up?

I cried today God, did you dry my tears?

I lost my mind today God, did you help me find it?

~~~~~

I prayed today God, did you hear me?

I got down on my knees to beg, did you see me?

I was angered by your ignorance towards me, did you feel it?

~~~~~

The blood was messy, did you help me clean it up?

The pain was excruciating, did you help to relieve it?

Nope, you didn’t.

~~~~~

If you were a woman, God,

You would have …

picked me up,

cleaned me up,

dried my tears,

calmed my fears,

prayed with me,

used your GPS to help find my sanity,

paid attention to me,

relieved my pain,

and encouraged me to believe in dreams again, and in hope, love, and the general goodness of mankind.

And if you could not have , you would have found someone who could !

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Debbie Steinmetz

I am a life long story teller, writer of poetry, prose, song lyrics, and short stories. I have some published poetry from many years ago.

As a natural empath I use the feelings I’m experiencing from others as inspiration for my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)12 months ago

    ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.