Poets logo

Promise me, My Darling!

A poem about expressing love

By malik zahoorPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Promise me, My Darling!
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

My darling, 

the arms that carry mountains will also carry the wings of immortal souls

In every barrier that you remove from your tongue.

My heart trembles every second you exist. 

Only the Skies know how grateful they are. 

Only the world outside us is capable of decoding. 

It is your hands that separate guilt from sin, filth from purity, and love from hatred. 

You are a doorway to every border, rescuing refugees from their own danger. 

And while you're on the road, promise me you'll stay. 

For every day, the life that takes you away, the life that leads you astray.

Promise me that you will remember that you are light in the midst of chaos, in a struggle for the truth, for what is right.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F2 years ago

    That was beautiful simply beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.