Poets logo

Prisoner of Love

When love takes you captive

By Korreain JohnsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Prisoner of Love
Photo by Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

It's much to late for me. Who can save me now?

You may think that you can, but I ask you "How?"

How can you save one who's already fallen?

One that is too far gone to hear you callin'?

I'm caught in the current, adrift in the tide.

There's nowhere to run and there's nowhere to hide.

I'm painted in a corner. I'm up on my toes.

Will I ever get free? I think nobody knows.

But I don't try to escape; I'm not trying to run,

For my captivity is really a very pleasant one.

For there is no prison down below or high above

That's as soothing, as great, or as pleasant as love.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Korreain Johnson

I'm a Christian wife and mother of three who homeschools. Although I often seem very cookie cutter and traditional in many ways, my creativity allows me to express a side of me that doesn't have to be bothered with perfection and judgment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.