Poets logo

Princess

...

By Remy DhamiPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Princess
Photo by Ali Lokhandwala on Unsplash

When the door slammed for the last time,

Then fell down the wind-chime,

Ivy grew over the tower,

Dawn and sunset became sad and sour,

When I wait for you to return to me,

I’m the only thing of yours that no one sees,

Is this something that belongs to you?

Is this a brick building using shame as glue?

My heart breaks,

My mind aches,

The monster has needs,

My bruises bleed,

Don’t come back,

This isn’t home,

Don’t climb the wall,

I wish to be alone,

It doesn’t matter that it hurts,

I can’t feel it anymore,

I need to take my medicine,

Or risk your soul feeling sore,

The short, sharp verbal bullets aren’t that ugly,

I’m what you say I am,

“I want to help you be a better person,

And become what you can.”

Thank you for reminding me I am capable of change,

I’m sorry I wasn’t enough,

Apologies have no meaning now,

The ivy moulds, and turns brown and rough,

After dark no one can help me,

Before sunrise they can’t hear me scream,

She’s not really begging you to stop,

She likes it, she needs it, she deserves it,

Pain becomes power, or a lifetime of twilight,

This derelict world,

These four grey walls,

This iron brick castle is not my home,

The hellscape I live in is not my own.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Remy Dhami

In order to change the future, we must first accept the past.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.