Poets logo

Pride

A poem about true confidence.

By Danielle MosleyPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Pride
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Pride.

Everyone has told me to keep my head up and have Pride.

How? I ask myself. How can I when everyone else looks down on me?

People look at me and think I'm ugly. Useless. Stupid.

They look at me like there is something really wrong with me.

My loved ones tell me. No, it's not you. It's them.

How can it be them when they have people who love them. People to hang out with on the weekends when I'm stuck at home. People to invite them to birthday parties and summer camps when I have no one to hang with or anything to do.

Will the feeling of being useless, ugly, worthless ever pass. Will I ever receive the friendship and love that I deserve.

As time goes by... well... so much is changing...

There are more people around that like me for me. People I can see each day that love having me around. I'm starting to see that it is not me.

I look back on all the research that I've done on why people bully others and realize there is one thing they don't really have,,, self-love.

But people tell me and others around me it's wrong to love oneself. But I sit and look at my loved ones and realize there is nothing wrong with loving myself... loving who I am. I'm starting to love who I've become.

I now realize I can love myself...love who I am.... have pride and self confidence in all I've worked hard for.

I now love me for me even if other don't. I now realize that they were not worth the time.

There is one thing I now have that they don't.....PRIDE.

If you liked this poem be sure to hit the heart button and share and if you want to be extra helpful you may pledge or send a tip. Any support will do.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Danielle Mosley

I've enjoyed writing and reading ever since I was in grade school. I'm looking forward to making a career out of my talent as a writer. If you like any of my articles be sure to share them and leave me a tip. Any type of support is great!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.