Poets logo

Pretty Face

Fix the fake, fade away.

By Ivy RozenPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wake up and put on my face

Because that's the only way

To get through all these lonely days

And navigate another social exchange

“How are you?” “Oh I'm fine!”

“I really can't complain!”

“Hey, do you have the time?”

These people, all the same

Fix my face, fix my face

Don't look out of place

Fix my face, fix my face

Never ever let it break

Fix the fake, fade away

They love a pretty face

Fix my face, fade away

I had a guy for a while

Who really knew how to make me smile

But my dysfunctional tendencies

Get the best of me

I'm always in my own way

Can someone help me please

Always on my knees

Lord knows it isn't to pray

But nobody cares

Hell yeah, I've been there

Just sleeping the day away

Wishing that someone would stay

Hiding all of my heart breaks

Guess I need to put on my face

Fix my face, fix my face

Don't look out of place

Fix my face, fix my face

Never ever let it break

Fix the fake, fade away

They love a pretty face

Fix my face, fade away

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ivy Rozen

Writer and poet with published articles, email campaigning experience, teaching experience, and a completed poetry residency with Free Verse, where I finished my first book of poems, Runcation, on sale now at www.IvanaWrites.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.