Poets logo

Poseidon's Waves

A pantoum

By Sapphire RavenclawPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Image by Dimitris Vetsikas from Pixabay

I have written poetry ever since I can remember. At age 14, my first published in a local anthology (I really should have a look for that).

Since then, I've had other poems published in other anthologies, I have a poetry blog, and a small book of a few of my older poems for sale. While I do not write so much poetry any more, I have been working on picking out some of my favourites to create another collection.

Poetry Style: Pantoum

The following particular poem is in a pantoum style. The lines are grouped into four-line stanzas or quatrains. The first and last lines are the same, and lines from each verse are repeated in a different line of the next verse. For example, the second and fourth line of the first verse become the first and third line of the second verse.

Before writing this poem, I had not written a pantoum. Most of my poetry has been freestyle. Actually, I had not previously considered the type of poem I was writing when I wrote each one. The only reason for writing a pantoum was because it happened to part of my English degree work, and I am yet to write another.

As with most of my poetry, this one was not given a title when it was written in 2014. I have given it the title, 'Poseidon's Waves', for the purpose of publishing it here in 2020. I was not sure as to whether I liked the poem myself but I have grown to like it the more I have read it.

The Poem: Poseidon's Waves

The ocean opens up its mouth

Swallowing twenty thousand ships

Covering all of Britain's south

Nothing to see but the tree's tips

Swallowing twenty thousand

His watery mouth open wide

Nothing to see but the tree's tips

Upturned cares floating on their side

Image by Enrique Meseguer from Pixabay

His watery mouth open wide

Poseiden plies his angry waves

Upturned cars floating on their side

The water makes the world his slave

Poseiden plies his angry waves

Covering all of Britain's south

The water makes the world his slave

The ocean opens up his mouth.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sapphire Ravenclaw

I am, among other things, a freelance writer and mother. I enjoy writing poetry and articles. Currently, much of my spare time is spent working on a book about Paganism (one of many subjects which interests me).

More of me:

WordPress

My Poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.