Poets logo

Poison Memories

When the Past Haunts You

By Raven HeidrichPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Poison Memories
Photo by Moritz Kindler on Unsplash

I can't let them go

I can't live them down

They keep going through my head

Like a hamster running around

I see anger and sadness

Betrayal and favorites

I can dispel the demons in my own mind

As I remember all the cards I was dealt

Cards of poison

Cards of time

Cards of death

Cards of abuse

These cards of mine

They are my memories

That I'd rather forget

But these drugs and this broken body

Won't let me let go yet

I see the hatred in their eyes as my own blood looks at me

They'd rather I was dead

But then where would they be?

Who would they cling to, to shove their pain on?

Who would they poison to make their sleep sound?

Purify me

Suck the poison out

I don't want to see them anymore

They fuel every ounce of doubt

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.