Poets logo

"Poetry, The Heart of the Soul."

When poetry fills my heart!

By Agnes LaurensPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
"Poetry, The Heart of the Soul."
Photo by Álvaro Serrano on Unsplash

When I started writing poetry for the first time, I thought it was difficult. I thought poetry was for highly intelligent people who can swipe with their words magically. Only people with high education can be a poet.

None of this is true, I learned to try out poetry myself. The more I tried, the more I start loving poetry. I even started to learn - and still learning - new poetry forms I love to try out with my audience. They know exactly what kind of poetry they want to read. No, I can't please all of them. Mainly, I have to write what I love to write about. Most of the time, it is just a feeling I got about something I have experienced, or someone said to me that has a negative impact on my well-being.

When I write poetry, I feel so much relieved about what my emotions are at that moment and in that particular situation. Deep within my heart and in my soul, I feel a lot of things in those moments. I write my feelings into poetry that reassembles my experiences. Sometimes it works well, and sometimes people don't understand but only me.

Poetry is to me something that goes through my blood and veins when I feel whatever I feel in those situations. I need those poems to make, just to feed my soul, to provide my identity, and to know my worth as well.

Poetry feeds the warmth I feel, poetry gives me the warmth I need, and poetry gives me the warmth I want to give others. At the same time, I want to teach - with my poetry - the lessons I learned through my life experiences.

I highly believe in teaching others the lessons I learned throughout my life. Teaching others is something I love to do on smaller occasions, such as conversations with best friends.

====================================================

Why I love poetry so much:

====================================================

====================================================

Other Six-Word Memoirs stories:

====================================================

About the writer

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives in The Netherlands, with her three daughters. You can find her on Vocal, Medium, Elephant Journal, HubPages, and Music List. Aside from playing the violin, writing has been one of her passions since childhood. She is on Twitter and Instagram. You can subscribe to my mailing list, and you can subscribe to my Thoughts. Check out her books. She has an online web store, and she has a merchandise store. Please follow this link if you want to be informed about my online store and my merch, please follow this link.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives with her daughters. Writing is, like playing the violin, her passion. She writes about anything that crosses her mind. Follow her on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.