Poets logo

Poetry Provides a Snapshot in Time

Voices from America’s youth

By Brenda MahlerPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Poetry Provides a Snapshot in Time
Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

Two poems from a book, Lockers Speak, released this week.

Carolyn Anderson

Momma told me the red mark on my face

is a symbol of God’s love

I am special

All the kids at school say it’s an ugly scar

They tease and instead of playing chase

They run the other way

Then Lane enrolled in our school

Girls swarmed him

They all wanted to be his friend,

or more

We first talked when he saw me

reading The Princess Bride

He walked up and said, “I love the classics.

Always been a favorite.”

I smiled,

continued reading, assuming

he would walk away. He didn’t

I could feel his presence

The next day he was carrying –

you’ll never guess –

The Princess Bride

He said hi, sat down

We read, ate and he helped me off the grass

I heard, “You’re really pretty.”

I remember putting my hand to my face,

traced my birthmark

My cheek was wet

I whispered, “No I’m not”

Turned my head away from him

Behind me I heard, “As you wish”

Lane Iverson

It was the first day at a new school when I noticed Carolyn

I saw her from the back, almost six feet tall with long hair

I mean really long, blonde hair. She walked with confidence

She never made eye contact with others

She never raised her head. Yet her movements showed

ease and determination

It was probably her clothes. They were comfortable,

casual, inviting

Nothing like the other girls who try to show off,

draw attention to what doesn’t matter

Then at lunch I was bombarded with attention

from everybody but her

Insincere smiles

Attention isn’t always good

Questions take

give nothing in return

People want to hear

not interested in knowing

I watched her on the grass reading

from across the courtyard

When I asked a guy her name, his shoulder’s shrugged

Everyone I asked didn’t know

or said something different

So, I sat next to her

I was going to introduce myself

but the quiet was comfortable

The next day I ate lunch beside her

After eating, I opened The Princess Bride,

the book I noticed her reading the day before

She noticed, smiled,

continued reading

When I asked her if she wanted a friend,

She softly replied, “As you wish.”

Picture of author’s book. Image from author’s library.

Through poetry, Lockers Speak shares the thoughts of high school students during a moment in time.

After retiring from education, the students’ who profoundly influenced my life, come alive on the pages. All the verses together share a realistic, thriving world of youth craving to be heard.

Sure, I am the author but why can’t I review my own writing?

For an inside look at the thoughts of teens, Lockers Speak is available on Amazon.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.