Poets logo

Poetry Describing My Newly Realized ADD

After gaining insight on myself from a book about ADD, I found the words to describe the very experience.

By DEUXQANEPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Poetry Describing My Newly Realized ADD
Photo by Caleb Woods on Unsplash

When I open a book for the first time

my eyes take a deep breath

before diving into the story

then crash head-first into the cover

because I wanted to see it again.

Whenever I embark on a new journey,

I think about the great adventure

I'm about to have, all the people I'll meet

then I head back inside

and accidentally watch YouTube videos for a few hours.

And somehow the day escapes me,

like everything else manages to do.

My attention slides around until the night comes

and the only thing I slip into is slumber.

My mind is soap, grease, and banana peels,

I'll walk into one thought and somehow I'll

"are-fish-nuts-and-avocados-the-only-fat-source?"

my way into "what does space sound like?"

And then rinse and repeat

except the soap just does not come off

I'm like every clean freak's wet dream

or possibly worst nightmare

and did anyone ever realize detergent

is just soap with the bubbles turned up to 11?

I got secret powers, though.

In college I nearly failed out about 8 to 12 times

because I chose to live my life 8 to 12 times

over doing 8 to 12 page papers,

and when I went for that master's degree,

My powers became superpowers

weaving forty page theses in mere days

and still walk across the stage with cap and gown.

How bout that, huh?

I got the good, the bad, the amazing

my mind colors outside the lines with no plans of erasing

lives up to its truth while still contemplating

"am I getting old if I like oatmeal raisin?"

inspirational
2

About the Creator

DEUXQANE

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a licensed therapist. I love my kettlebell, steel mace, and rower. I've a soft spot for sci-fi, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, drag race, EDM, and spending time in nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.