Poets logo

Poems for All

Emotional

By Anna DeversPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Dried Out Roses

Old red roses dry and dead

Wilted petals fall instead

He once gave to me to keep

Those days they lagged like lonely sleep

And now they sit as time has past

Alone without a love at last

With shadows of our love cry

And wilted roses that won't die

A phone with no-one to call

I try to forget, but don't at all

I once left your name to find

I called it sweet, and good, and kind

But when I found it, it was gone

You took it back and then moved on

And so I sit here cold and blue

With nothing more for me to do

But sit with nothing left to say

And throw the notes all away

You Lied

You said we'd always be together

You said you wanted it to be forever

You said there wasn't anyone besides me

I was so blind, why couldn't I see

You said I was yours

You said you were mine

And that it'd stay like that

For all time

You said you were coming back

And that you'd always care

Knowing that you're not

The thought I can't bear

You said you loved me

And believe you, I tried

Then in the end

I realized...YOU LIED!

Illusion

I thought I saw you look at me

I thought I saw you stare

Do you know I think you're cute

I like the look you bare

Are my eyes deceiving me

When I see you standing there

Are you playing tricks on me

Just to prove I care

Are you an illusion

Is it only in my mind

Do you look at me

As I do you

To see if you can find

A little bit of interest

A stolen glance your way

Will you talk to me

Or watch me day by day

You may have taken notice

That I'm not very shy

I like to tell my girlfriends

When I like a certain guy

I do not mean to scare you

But I've thought of you a lot

And now I simply want to know

Do you like me too...or not

With Humor

If I have to be your best friend

If that's all that I can get

Then I'll take the job with honor

I'll be the best one yet

I'll offer you my shoulder

I'll show you how I care

I'll be there when you need me

I'm not going anywhere

If I have to be your best friend

The one that hears you cry

I'll take the job with honor

I'll take the job with pride

My love for you is stronger

Than you will ever know

But for you to ever love me

I'll have to let you go

You need to find your purpose

You need to sort your thoughts

But when the course has ended

When the race has finally run

Remember it's your best friend

That's loved you from day one

Someone Special

There's someone special in my life

Who doesn't know I care

I wish I could let him know it

But let it show, I wouldn't dare

I don't want to even risk it

I don't want to even try

For if he knew I felt this way

I'd feel insecure and shy

I never thought I'd feel this way

I never thought I'd care

There's something in that smile of his

That makes me stop and stare

How can I tell if he likes me

Will he ever look my way

I'll keep my feelings hidden for now

And save them for another day

Not Having You Here

It's so hard to want

What I once had

The pain inside

That hurts so bad

You got up and left

Against my will

You can't even imagine

The pain I feel

Now we don't talk

And it's breaking my heart

I don't know what to do

I'm falling apart

If I had to do it all over

Believe me, I would

Every last part

If only I could

Our time together

Was so worth the while

I went day to day

Just to see your smile

I'd live that way again

If only I had the choice

It hurts just to know

I can't hear your voice

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.