Poets logo

Poem: "The Wishmaker"

"Years go on into high school and college..."

By DEUXQANEPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Poem: "The Wishmaker"
Photo by Saad Chaudhry on Unsplash

The last time I ever had a wish come true

I was in my backyard looking up at the sky

It was rather dark, I think I finished playing

a game of Yu-Gi-Oh! with my neighbor

A game which I had knockoff cards from Chinatown

and would break rules and cheat just to win

he'd be amazing how I'd won despite the peril

but I'd be amazed at how good I was at lying

and how much I'd do it to myself in the future

but above m decided to break the rules for me too

I saw a shooting star, and somehow I knew

to make a wish as soon as I could

and to tell nobody until it came true

sure enough it sure as hell did

I wished for a ton of video games as a kid

I had stacks upon stacks of games

PS2, Gamecube--an absurd privilege

"wishes do come true," I told myself

a lie that would probably take a village

years go on into high school and college

I'm dreaming of men

and yearning for knowledge

I declare desire to be an artist

and my parents' reaction is sick

my wishes are dashed and for nursing I'm picked

I wish and I wish for the tables to turn

but no shooting star seems to be concerned

about some measly kid who wasted his wish on games

and all he has now is himself to blame

but even when he wished for a body to love

he fought like hell until he was close enough

to realize then that he is both the wisher and the maker

no wish will come true

unless there's an action taker

-

inspired by April PAD (Poem-A-Day) #4 on the word "wishes"

This took me about 25 minutes.

Follow me on instagram for more works @Ephrain_

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

DEUXQANE

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a licensed therapist. I love my kettlebell, steel mace, and rower. I've a soft spot for sci-fi, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, drag race, EDM, and spending time in nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.