Poets logo

Poem: "Patched Up"

I had my choice of vice in one hand, and nothing in the other.

By DEUXQANEPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Poem: "Patched Up"
Photo by Kendrick Nguyen on Unsplash

This afternoon

at the pier

I had my choice of vice in one hand

and nothing in the other

I left my feet dangling in the water

airing out my mental laundry

They say if you write in a journal

you can be more in touch with yourself

and to be honest

I really don't wanna be.

I'm scared of what I'll find.

I've been putting my fire out there

and all I ever really feel is put out.

Since then, I run around with an icy heart

and winter's the only thing that feels chilly to me.

I guess I'm just angry at myself

for slipping up again

tripping up again

screwing up again

again and again.

Like I don't already know my lesson

before I even care to stop myself

my vice has fallen into the water

and once again I am empty-handed

very much so

very, very much so.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

DEUXQANE

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a licensed therapist. I love my kettlebell, steel mace, and rower. I've a soft spot for sci-fi, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, drag race, EDM, and spending time in nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.