Poets logo

Poem of the Week: An Observer

A Short Letter to Those Who Watched Me Suffer

By KristinaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
6
Poem of the Week: An Observer
Photo by nikko macaspac on Unsplash

You have no room

to speak on my trauma & pain

when you were only an observer, an outsider.

You watched me, but you never listened.

You questioned me, but never asked what I desperately needed to hear.

Now here you are,

plucking my stitches out one by one,

reopening deeply rooted wounds that I thought I had healed.

Now here you are,

thinking you knew everything

when you know nothing.

You saw what I wanted you to see.

You heard what I wanted you to hear,

but it seems my cry for help was not loud enough,

for all you did was watch & listen.

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Kristina

Hello! I'm Kristina or @quietvisualmind. I'm a published poet, writer, and self-taught artist. I also hold a BA in English with an Emphasis in Professional Writing. Welcome to my mind!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨9 months ago

    💔 Beautiful and painful. Well written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.