Poets logo

Poem: 'My Beating Heart'

Sweet eternity came and sat by my side...

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 2 years ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
23
Poem: 'My Beating Heart'
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

My Beating Heart

Sweet eternity

Came and sat by my side;

Her hand softly stroked

My heart, the unchained dancer.

Inflamed and overcome,

My thoughts turned into a blur.

Intoxicated

By a secret source, my mind

Had long been dreaming.

Then, daylight arose in the skies;

I opened my eyes.

Eternity soothingly

Lay her sweet hand on

My shoulder, numbed by cold winds.

Suddenly, I felt

The sublime take hold of me.

My tenderness, still

Dulled by silence and absence,

Appeared to demand

More ease and more strength from me.

Sweet eternity

Kindly held me in her arms

And whispered some pure,

Refined, and unforgettable

Tunes and sentences

Worthy of grand prophecies.

“When Heart beats, Spirit dances.

When Spirit dances, Universe comes to life.

When Universe comes to life, God creates.

Let your heart follow Time’s rhythm.

Let it love or you may kill your soul.

Be like the autumnal fog;

Weave your forms through shivery mornings.

Be like the wintery snow, whose first flakes

Are so pure as to attract man’s steps.

Be immortal like the horizon –

Always ahead of the eyes but forever shifting.

Let your heart follow God’s rhythm.

Because when Heart beats, God creates.”

© 2008 Cendrine Marrouat

That's it for today! Thank you for reading!

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

inspirational
23

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    very well written. great poem. enjoyed immensely

  • ARNAB DAS8 months ago

    Good

  • I love how and when you chose to do a line break, it reads so well and smoothly

  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    Beautiful. Fantastic use of vocabulary and very well written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.