Poets logo

Poem: I miss you

Day 3

By Alexia VillanuevaPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
How do I heal a wound that’s still being cut? How do I outrun a knife that follows me wherever I go? — tara love / do i claw my way out of the grave that my spirit has died in?

I miss how we used to be,

how your fingers dug into

my soul, brought out my emotion,

gave me love but you have

faked happiness, anger but

never love.

I miss the kisses on my cheeks,

the thoughtful words,

the smiles that never faded,

or the way you used to stare

at me like I was a portrait

of beauty.

I miss the love,

you

left in the hole you created

in my chest,

the way my hand felt

like the perfect puzzle

piece.

I miss the person you used to be with me.

I miss believing that

you once felt true

happiness with me, a feeling

I have never greeted,

never met or ever had.

I miss the I love you's,

the gorgeous in the morning,

the beautiful at night,

I miss being called momma.

I miss everything about us

that we used to be. I miss

the love that grew us,

I miss believing that you

love me because how

can you say you wouldn't

feel a thing?

I miss feeling loved,

I miss feeling like you are

in love with me,

a girl who has faked emotions

she has never understood.

A girl who's never fallen in love,

who has tasted posion from a vile,

held blood on her hands,

stabbed men in the heart.

Set love on fire,

danced on its ashes,

& turned it into tea,

drinking its remains,

dancing on its grave.

What can I say?

When I don't understand what love

is or the happiness it brings?

I thought home was a person,

love was a thought,

a chemical in-balance,

& the heart a virus.

I ask you to stop faking emotions,

to hoping, to praying, you don't

flip the switch to feel nothing,

that being led on isn't the goal

or a game of checkers I will

never win.

I miss falling into your hugs,

laying in bed in your arms

& hearing your heartbeat,

holding me closer to feel

your warmth, to understand

maybe this is what love is.

That the love I feel with you

is beautiful, grand, & polite

but then I cry, I whine, & fall

into loveless books of tradgies.

Wondering if all the emotions

you have told have been fake,

if believing in soulmates is even

true to you, I still wonder are

you still in love with me

when you're ignoring me?

My poetry may be blasphemy

but I speak the truth & color it

lace it, tie with a bow & still

tell you I love you.

Yet, I fear that you are faking

the love you feel for me

because you are the first boy I have

ever loved.

The first that my heart

has ever given a chance to hold.

I ask don't break it,

or kill it with gasoline,

because I have never fallen

in love before.

This is all still new me,

I hope you are still falling

in love with me, caressing

my heart & making it whole.

I miss your smile,

your ADHD,

your morbid humor,

& your love for me.

I miss it all but I fear

you have been faking it,

I miss your late night calls,

falling asleep on the phone,

playing me songs that remind

you of us.

I miss us,

the way we used be,

your hugs,

our kisses,

I look at our pictures

& remember our memories.

I still remember falling

in love with you,

beneath a sunset,

our feet in the sand,

teaching me to dance.

I still love you.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.