Poets logo

Poem 1

from my collection, The Flaw in my Plan

By Kait ThursdayPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Poem 1:

And I could tell you the story

of my many near-sighted pursuits.

But I also stood and moved and danced

and tottered home drunkenly on especially dark nights.

And you would nod and smile politely

and say, “Such a rich existence,” placatingly.

It was me, running from things that could not exist without me.

Battered copies of my guts spilled,

read only by myself, repeatedly.

There was never a moment alone, while I was with myself.

No glass of wine could drown me,

no painted canvas could smother me.

And I could tell you the story

Of long nights in the barley.

But I could also tell you of surfaces polished to a glow.

And courses prepared by these hands; served on porcelain.

And you would frown and nod thoughtfully

and say, “So fine, so rich, so lonely,” despairingly.

It was me macheting a pathway to the hollow

where the ground and the water and the flowers and the trees

could never be owned, but were mine all the same.

There was never a moment alone, while I was with myself.

And no mindless doing could abbreviate me,

no strenuous labor could burn me down.

And I could tell you the story

of bleeding hands down to the bone.

But I also broke and swayed and gasped

and depleted my body on especially dark nights.

And you would run and yell back frightenedly

and say, “Such a terrible waste,” franticly.

It was me dropping my sword in the face of my opponents

because the forest around us was set ablaze

and they trampled me on their way to safety, beating me, regardless.

There was never a moment alone, while I was with myself.

No stark, barren nothingness could faze me

no hereafter could call me home.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Kait Thursday

I'm a poet and a novelist, but my friends call me a starving artist. I've been writing for twenty years and have no plans to stop. I post new content to Vocal every month, but I have ADHD, so remind me if I forget.

WordPress

Amazon

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.