Poets logo

Please Listen To My Advice

It may save you pain and heartache

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 1 min read
9
Please Listen To My Advice
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

Hello my friend, I have some advice

Just as it was once given to me,

I only wish I had listened back then

But I knew best and refused to see.

***

It was given when life was a joyous place

Nothing wrong and everything just right,

Until a sharp prick pierced my disillusion

And the cover was ripped from my sight.

***

Forgive me, I don’t tell you to make you sad

I do not want to take away your happiness,

But just as I once refused to listen

I soon realised my foolishness.

***

Now is the time to hold on to your love

Do all you can to see that it grows,

Strengthen your love so it will last

When your thoughts and doubts do show.

***

The pain and agony slowly creeps on in

At first, numbness keeps it at bay,

Then when it arrives, it hits you hard

The heartbreak is here to stay.

***

For now you’ll fight the truth being told

Denying that your love could be cruel,

Believing all that’s whispered in your ear

After all, you are nobody’s fool.

***

It’s at this time it starts to hit home

So please know I am always here,

I’ll be the first to understand

And a shoulder for all your tears.

*********************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

inspirational
9

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.